Hello world!

I have been going back and forth for quite some time on whether or not to start a blog.  I am finally taking the plunge because I know I will regret it if I don’t!  Here are my four main reasons to start this blog:

1. Get involved in blogging community

I have been known to spend hours on end reading blog posts from my favorite bloggers.  I’ve seen so many amazing projects, learned a number of important lessons, and received tons of inspiration.  My “Website URL” form field has been blank for far too long when I’m posting comments on other blogs, and it’s about time that changed!  I want this blog to allow me to connect with other bloggers out there, and give back to the blogging community. 

2. Keep in touch with friends and family

I will admit that I am not great with keeping in touch with friends and family.  I’m not big on talking on the phone, so besides the occasional Facebook communication, I pretty much only talk to most people I love in person.  I want this blog to help me keep friends and family updated on our life, no matter where in the world they may be.

3. Creative outlet

I am a total busy body.  I can’t remember the last time I sat around and had a lazy day.  I am happiest when I am occupied, productive, and crossing things off of my to-do list.  I need an outlet to be able to share some of my ideas, projects, tips, etc.  I don’t think the mister will be able to stand hearing my one millionth exclamation to the tune of “Honey, look at this great chair makeover!” for much longer.  I want this blog to allow me an outlet to share my ideas with others.

4. Personal motivation

Life is short.  There are too many things I want to experience while I am alive to continue to push back my aspirations.   In my experience, any goal worth pursuing needs to have both a deadline and a sense of accountability, or it will not be completed.  One of the things I plan to post about on this blog is the Day Zero challenge, which entails completing 101 tangible goals in 1001 days.  I think it will be rewarding to see myself making progress and also keep me accountable. I want this blog to help motivate me to complete these goals and to record how far I’ve come.

This entry was posted in Blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hello world!

  1. Randy Cleghorn says:

    I like your blog. If I could only come up with 101 tangible goals 🙂 I’ll think about it …

    • Amanda says:

      Thanks! Mine are mostly written but should be coming in mid-August… I already have posts written until then for M-W-F… (Overachiever :-p)

  2. Kristen says:

    Yeah i really like your blog, glad you picked an appropriate name

  3. Deb Baker says:

    Can’t wait to see your progress! Looks great so far 🙂 It would be nice if some of your enthusiasm rubbed off on me (said the couch ‘tater 🙂

  4. Sally Cleghorn says:

    Amanda, I am so proud of your craftiness! You have been a little busy bee since you were very young. It will be great to see you grow in experience and productivity. I can envision you being the owner of a sweet little shop some day where the general public can come in, browse, and buy the crafty things they can’t even imagine, let alone make for themselves.

  5. Terry says:

    Love your blog…don’t understand the whole blogging world, but I just might add that to my list!

Leave a Reply

