Heart Tree Wedding Part 1: The Ceremony

On June 20, 2009, I married my best friend.  It was by far the best day of my life.  Not only did it mark the beginning of our new life together, but it was the best party I’ve ever been to! I also had way too much fun deal hunting to stay under budget and creating tons of DIY details.

Nathan and I had been friends for many years before we started dating in 2006, and then we got engaged in December of 2008.  We wanted a short engagement (6 months) because we were so excited to start our lives together.  During these 6 months, we both worked full time, we bought a house, I finished my last semester of engineering and graduated, and we planned this entire wedding!  It was a super busy time, but so much fun!

Our main philosophy was just to make sure everything we did for the wedding reflected who we were and was fun for everyone attending.  I included many family and friends in the DIY projects to make the day more personal. 

I designed all of the paper goods for the wedding.  I printed and cut the invitations and programs myself, and assembled them with the help of my mom, sister, grandmother, and a bridesmaid.  If you are interested, I now sell this and other invitations designs in my Etsy shop {Tickle Me} Ink.

The flowers were designed by a friend of the family.  All I told him was that I wanted a rough, thrown together look with red flowers and an aqua ribbon wrap.  I loved them!

The boys wore black tuxedos with aqua ties and vests and the girls wore strapless aqua tea length dresses.

My grandmother made both the unity candle and the ring pillow with some vintage buttons and fabric and ribbon from Joann’s.

My mother-in-law made my necklace out of a strand she had of saltwater pearls and Swarovski crystals.  She also made the bridesmaids their necklaces and earrings.  My earrings were purchased from the  ShySiren Etsy site.

It was a family affair! My sister was the maid of honor, my brother in law was the best man, and my little brother was the ring bearer.  My aunt and uncle sang a duet, Fleetwood Mac’s “Songbird”, during a photo slideshow, and my father-in-law (a minister) married us at the church where we met.

Stay tuned for Part 2: Bridal Party Photo Shoot on Wednesday!

I’m linking up to the CSI Project Turquoise challenge here:
Visit thecsiproject.com

This entry was posted in DIY, Weddings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Heart Tree Wedding Part 1: The Ceremony

  1. What a beautiful wedding! I came over from the CSI project, and when I read “no dancing” I wondered hmmm…wonder if she’s Church of Christ. Took a second look at the invitation-yep! My family is from the Detroit area, and my dad was the preacher at Parkside CofC in Dearborn Hts in the 80s. My grandma lived in Royal Oak for a long time (but she went to Parkside). Anyway, just thought it was interesting.

Leave a Reply

