Baby Shower Party Theme: Juno

Welcome to the first of (hopefully) many Party Inspiration Boards.  Today I will be sharing with you my ideas for a Juno themed baby shower! 

COLOR INSPIRATION

 

 

DECOR

Stick with the recognizable orange and white stripe combo whenever possible, with accents of green.  The theme will be seen clearly with the other elements of the party.

If you are feeling really crafty, create centerpieces with record bowls filled with snacks and/or decorative accents.  You could even have them do double duty by filling with a mixture of oranges and pears or carrots and broccoli with dip as an appetizer that stays true to the orange and green color scheme.

I loved this idea for a baby shower so much that I whipped up a Juno themed baby shower printable party package to add to my Etsy shop, which includes printable invitations, party bunting flags, party circles (for cupcake toppers, napkin rings, stickers, etc), table tents (for place cards, food labels, etc), thank you notes, and blank labels.  It is an easy printable PDF file that contains all the paper goods you’ll need to really tie the Juno theme together.

 

FOOD

We can build a menu from one of the most well known phrases in the movie:

Create a hamburger bar where guests can load up their burgers with all of their favorite toppings.  Get a little crazy with a variety of cheeses, condiments, and veggies.  An assembly line setup will work best for this to keep the line moving quickly.  For a lighter lunch party, opt for sliders instead of burgers.

An individual bottle of Sunny D at each seat would be the perfect drink.  (Although, it would probably be wise to have bottles of water too, since most will not want OJ with their burgers!)

 

DESSERT

For dessert, a great option would be a boysenberry pie to allude to the abortion clinic’s free condoms…

Also, a cupcake table with orange, white, or green frosted cupcakes would work perfectly.  Add some flair with fun Juno themed cupcake picks.

ACTIVITIES

If you are able to round up an Etch-a-Sketch or two, try using them to play a game of pictionary.  Toss some Juno and/or baby themed ideas into a hat and give each guest a turn at etch-a-sketching it within a certain time limit.  Even more fun would be to have two teams racing to guess the etch-a-sketch first.

MUSIC

I don’t think there could be anything more fitting than to play music from the Juno soundtrack.  I have this CD and it is awesome!

  1. Barry Louis Polisar – “All I Want Is You” (2:37)
  2. Kimya Dawson – “My Rollercoaster” (0:53)
  3. The Kinks – “A Well Respected Man” (2:41)
  4. Buddy Holly – “(Ummm, Oh Yeah) Dearest” (1:53)
  5. Mateo Messina – “Up the Spout” (0:53)
  6. Kimya Dawson – “Tire Swing” (3:07)
  7. Belle & Sebastian – “Piazza, New York Catcher” (3:01)
  8. Kimya Dawson – “Loose Lips” (2:24)
  9. Sonic Youth – “Superstar” (4:06)
  10. Kimya Dawson – “Sleep” (0:52)
  11. Belle & Sebastian – “Expectations” (3:35)
  12. Mott the Hoople – “All the Young Dudes” (3:35)
  13. Kimya Dawson – “So Nice So Smart” (2:47)
  14. Cat Power – “Sea of Love” (2:20)
  15. Kimya Dawson and Antsy Pants – “Tree Hugger” (3:14)
  16. The Velvet Underground – “I’m Sticking with You” (2:29)
  17. The Moldy Peaches – “Anyone Else but You” (2:58)
  18. Antsy Pants – “Vampire” (1:20)
  19. Michael Cera and Ellen Page – “Anyone Else but You” (1:56)

FAVORS

A box of orange flavored tic-tacs (Paulie Bleeker’s favorite) placed along with a hamburger cookie in an orange and white striped bag would be the perfect favor for guests to take home.

Well, that’s all I have!  Is there anything you would add?  P.S. If any of you decide to throw a party inspired by this post, pretty please send me your pictures so I can feature them on my blog!

I’m linking up to the “Party Ideas” challenge at The CSI Project.

Visit thecsiproject.com

Update:

This entry was posted in DIY, Etsy, Food, Party inspiration boards, Tickle Me Ink. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Baby Shower Party Theme: Juno

  1. Thank you so much for the Juno theme inspiration board. You definitely have got my creative juices flowing! Would love to have orange and white stripe table cloths. Love the hamburger bar idea and burgers are soooo easy! Thanks for the ideas and your Juno kit is cute too!

  2. Kelley says:

    LOl… how cute, this is a great idea.

  3. Megs says:

    I think this shower idea is amazing! And not just because I announced my pregnancy to my husband Juno style! I totally wish I had a Juno shower! I put an ugly rug and chair in our yard, had a big carton of Sunny delight in hand, and wore a striped shirt like Juno’s, all ready for him when he came back from work. I made a little package to hand to him, complete with an etch-a-sketch, orange tic-tacs, and a Juno inspired card with a picture of the pregnancy test. Your Juno pdfs are awesome! Love this idea!

  4. Hilarious and original idea; I love it! I hope you get featured in the CSI project this week. 🙂

  5. AZPartyMamma says:

    love love love love!!!! It makes me want to get pregnant again and throw MYSELF this shower. I love all the movie references and I am sure my hubby would die for a Hamburger Bar!

  6. Jessica says:

    SO creative! I love it! Thanks for including my bags. I just created a post around it here.

    – Jessica

  7. Alanna says:

    Quite possibly the best baby shower theme EVER.
    I have nothing else to add, I love this idea!!

  8. such a fun & creative party theme! I LOVE it!!

  9. Lisa says:

    OH MY GOODNESS!! This is the most unique, creative, fun baby shower I have ever seen! My daughter and I have watched Juno and loved it. Now if she has a baby some day….I know what the theme will be for the shower! 🙂
    Love it!

  10. Andi says:

    Hi!! WOW! I love this! I’m visiting from CSI project and you should definitely win. So original and creative! Great movie too!

  11. I ABSOLUTELY love this! What a great idea! Hilarious!

  12. I almost never leave a response, however i did some searching and wound up here Baby Shower Party Theme:
     Juno |. And I do have a few questions for you if you
    tend not to mind. Is it only me or does it look like a
    few of these responses come across as if they are written by brain
    dead people? 😛 And, if you are writing at additional online sites,
    I would like to follow everything new you have to post.
    Would you list of all of your community pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  13. satchel bag says:

    A lot of options are available when it comes to purchasing a Furla bag.
    especially should give people a awesome impression
    of friends, take advantage of the opportunity
    to leather-based bag, frequent appears inside the attire concerning the integral
    collocation of, leather-based bag is in reality a indispensable element of.
    It features a slot in the back to accommodate two different clips: a fixed spring clip and an optional swivel 360-degree adjustment clip, for
    the most optimized carriage.

Leave a Reply

