How To: Creepy Lighted Halloween Portraits

We’ve been hard at work adding some spooky decor to our casa!  I’m going for a haunted mansion look with subtle hints of Halloween creepiness.

My friend Krysten came up with this project… she’s so creative!  She found this HUGE framed portrait at a church rummage sale for $2:

Is that not the creepiest thing you’ve ever seen?  Complete with an awful red jumpsuit, three scary cats, and a bird on a string, this bad boy is at least three feet tall.  The sad part is, the woman selling it said she loved it and was sad to see it go!

She found a couple of smaller frames there as well, so she printed off some creepy images she found on Google to place inside.

We drilled holes in all of the eyes using a hand drill from the picture all the way through the frame backing.  Then, we took a strand of orange-ish battery powered LED lights and inserted a single bulb into each hole.  We secured the wires around each bulb on the back with duct tape.  The cost for the entire project was probably around $5, although you may not be so lucky as to find such a creepy painting for $2!

It’s really hard to get a good picture of this project, because it has to be light enough to see the picture but dark enough to see the LED bulbs.  {And my birthday present, which just might help me take better photographs, is still on order from the manufacturer ;-)}  You will just have to trust me that it looks AWESOME in person!

Now, our mantle now looks like something straight out of an old abandoned mansion.  The pupster certainly doesn’t like getting as close to the fireplace now that these are up there!  Thanks Krysten for a great project!

I’m linking up to:
Visit thecsiproject.com
Entertain Exchange


This entry was posted in Holidays, Tutorials. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to How To: Creepy Lighted Halloween Portraits

  1. Sydney says:

    woah. LOVE IT! You’re a creative genius!

  2. thesoftspace says:

    This is so great!! I’m hesitant to do it, because I feel like I might freak myself out walking to the bathroom at night… 🙂

  3. Jennifer L. says:

    Whoa…this is amazing. I really LOVE this. My grandmother has this creepy portrait similar to yours and now I’m wondering if she’ll let me have it…..probably not but it doesn’t hurt to ask. Thanks for inspiring me!!

  4. That is the creepiest painting. Great idea adding the led lights.

  5. Dacia says:

    I like this idea. I printed creapy pictures, but next year I think I’ll do this with all the eyes!

  6. Karen says:

    OMG I love this idea. My husband is DYING (hehe) to try this over the weekend. This will really go with out decorating scheme.

    Curious, what did you google for that photo of the woman and skull? Love it!

  7. Donene Jones says:

    How awesome is that! They look great and I love the creepy lighted eyes!

  8. Goldberg says:

    The original creepy portrait is actually a piece by Francisco Goya!

  9. I am so making this! Had the same idea, creative minds think alike 🙂 It’s perfect for Halloween!

  10. Erik Lee says:

    Hello. Love your portraits! Did you cobble together the LED lights and battery pack, or was this something you found at Radio Shack?

Leave a Reply

