I Did Something Stupid

Do you ever have one of those days where you do something so SO SO stupid?  And you wake up the next day thinking to yourself, “what have I done”?  And then you try to fix it?  And it’s too late to be fixed?  Well, that happened to me.  I may be over-exaggerating just a little, but I am still very upset about it.

A couple of weeks ago, I was in a local thrift store and they had a whole set of campaign furniture.  I’m talking multiple dressers, desks, nightstands, highboys, etc.  You name it, it was there.  If you don’t know what campaign furniture is, see some inspiration photos below.

{via}

{via}

{via}

The nightstands I found were awkwardly low, and the secretary desk was a bit beat up, but the dressers were in great condition.  They would have needed to be painted and not left in their natural wood, but I’m totally fine with that.  Did I mention they were $40?  Yeah…

I went so far as to have the guy come out and take a look at my car to see if one would fit.  He thought so, but I wasn’t so sure… And $40, at the time, seemed a bit steep for a piece at a thrift store.  So, I left them there and went home, thinking I could come the next day and do some bargaining with the nicer manager {or so the girl at the counter told me}.  Of course, you know they were snatched up right away and when I went back the next day, ready to pay full price and call my in-laws to use their Yukon, they were gone… {*tear*}

So that is the story of my larger than life stupidity.  This post should really be categorized with something like “almost thrift scores,” or even “thrift fails;” I’m hoping not to make a habit of it though, so I’m not going to allow myself to create such a negative category.  I will, for now, live vicariously through those who were smart enough to snatch them up upon first glance.

This entry was posted in Thrift Scores. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Did Something Stupid

  1. Kate says:

    Oh no! What a bummer! I totally know how you feel though, I’ve passed up some great pieces before too 😦

  2. xboxfreak127 says:

    I’ve passed up some great games, too. I go back to gamesop and they say “Ooh, We just sold the last one!

  3. xboxfreak127 says:

    Sorry, meant to say “Gamestop” above

Leave a Reply

