It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas

My desire for faux taxidermy has gotten the best of me.  Daydreaming of a white resin deer mount for my living room inspiration post did not help, either.  Luckily, it’s Christmas time, and the mister cannot say no to (rein)deer decor!  And since I’m not about to shell out $200 for a faux deer head to use for the holidays and store somewhere for the rest of the year, I set out to create an inexpensive piece of art inspired by the deer heads.

First, I found some deer silhouettes I liked on Google…

Then, just as I did to make our silhouette canvas art, I printed them on full sheet label paper, cut them out, and affixed them to a canvas I had lying around the house…

I gave it all a coat of Rustoleum’s Lagoon spray paint and voila!

{Word to the wise: using spray paint this time around instead of brushing on regular paint like last time made the edges a lot less crisp.  This could be due to the cold weather and the labels not sticking to the canvas as well, or it could be that the paint bled more.  Either way, I would recommend brushing on the paint!}

I ended up hand painting over all of the white parts with white craft paint and a teeny paintbrush {as I consumed a deliciousness Cherry Coke Zero}…

It did the trick!

Here it is above the mantle…

I looooove it!  Let’s hope it satisfies my faux taxidermy cravings.  I *promise* I will take it down after Christmas.  Even though it’s awesome.  And even though it would perfectly match the new living room inspiration colors.  Well, *maybe* I’ll take it down after Christmas.

We paused to enjoy our first fire since we’ve lived in this house!  We are kicking ourselves for not doing it last year; it was super toasty!

Here is the Christmas tree and banister…

And at night!

A special thanks to my mom’s friend Rhoda for giving us her artificial tree.  It looks awesome!

Grand total for the reindeer artwork: $0.  I had everything I needed lying around the house.  You could do it for under $10 though even if you had to buy everything.

Grand total spent on Christmas decor this year: $0.  I love you, post holiday clearance section at Target…

Do you have any inexpensive holiday decor ideas?

The Lettered Cottage

Visit thecsiproject.com

Home Stories A2Z
This entry was posted in Decor, DIY, Holidays, Tutorials. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas

  1. Very pretty! That fire looks so inviting.

  2. Kelli says:

    So cute! I love the colors!

  3. I love the deer canvas so much! I need something for over my mantle and I could totally do this! Thanks for sharing.
    Sarah

  4. I love your colors:) That’s what we use in our home as well…

    Jen

  5. Char says:

    Great idea! I’m sort of obsessed with deer heads right now as well. LOL!

  6. Sally Cleghorn says:

    Amanda, if you really wanted a “real” stuffed deer head, I’m sure you must know there is a real one at the cottage! Grandpa shot that deer in 1975, and had the head mounted. It has been “gracing” that living room wall up there for 35 years!I always liked to give him a comedic look by putting on sunglasses and a hat. If his lips had not been sealed shut, I would have added a pipe! It worked for me.

  7. Haha, no grandma, just wanted “faux” taxidermy!

Leave a Reply

