Guest Bedroom Reveal (Sorta)

I’ll be honest, there is really not a room in my home that I would consider “complete.”  When you move into a big house with literally no furniture or home decor to your name, it just takes forever to decorate.  The guest bedroom is by no means done, but it’s to a point where I feel comfortable putting a picture on the internet, so that is something I suppose!

The bed is Ikea’s Fjellse bed which I reupholstered in a white linen-ish curtain I had around the house.  I’m actually pretty disappointed with it since the headboard is a lot lower than I expected it would be.  In hindsight, I should have built it up a little like Daniel did.

The sheers are Ikea, the curtains are Bed Bath & Beyond, the table is thrifted {painted white}, the bedding is Dwell Studio for Target, and the cable knit throw was a Target clearance find.

The other side of the room is my crafts area.  The bookcase/desk is from the Ikea Expedit collection.  All the orange storage is from Ikea as well.

Here is the room as a whole.  As you can see, it’s not huge.  In fact, if I’m doing a sewing or upholstery project, there’s just not enough room to spread out.  It’s also difficult for me to keep projects cleaned up for when guests come over.  This is the reason this post is only sort of a reveal.

This is a collage of my super messy junk room, which is the same size and layout as the guest bedroom, just flipped to the other side of the landing.  I’ve decided to turn this space into my craft room and allow the guest bedroom to be solely a guest bedroom.

Here is the bed rotated after I moved the desk out of the room.

And here is the desk in its new room after I did some major purging, organizing, and cleaning.  I’m regretting buying the orange storage containers now, since it’s kind of dictating that both upstairs rooms be orange in color; maybe I’ll end up trading them in for the green ones at some point.

Just for kicks, here is the mood board I very professionally threw together in PowerPoint for the room…

I really wanted a daybed, but the one pictured from Ikea actually ended up being a baby blue color, and I didn’t feel like it would be worth spray painting.  I passed on the rug since it was quite pricy and I didn’t LOVE it.  I also passed on the wall decals for now since I didn’t want the entire room to be birds and trees.  I have some other ideas for artwork above the bed and around the room…

Still on my to do list:

  • Sell the bed on Craigslist
  • Create my own upholstered headboard
  • Find and refinish some cheap nightstands
  • Hang curtains in the craft room
  • Find and refinish a long dresser for the opposite wall in the craft room for storage, an extra workspace, and place to put a TV
  • Accessorize both rooms

Will the list ever end?  Hopefully not… life would get really boring!

This entry was posted in Decor, House Tour. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Guest Bedroom Reveal (Sorta)

  1. Oh it looks so great! I really love the colors you chose and I really like that bedding too.

  2. Pingback: IKEA Denver Home Furnishings · IKEA Denver

  3. Jocelyn says:

    Love the wall color! What brand/shade please??

  4. Jinxan says:

    I love the curtains, where are they from?

  5. Jocelyn, the wall color is sadly the builder’s primer that was painted throughout our entire house before we moved in, so I don’t have a brand or a shade for you!

    Jinxan, the curtains are from Bed Bath and Beyond (ordered online since I needed the 95″ length).

    Hope that helps!

  6. Esther says:

    Can U explain how you upholstered the bed, I absolutely love it!!!

  7. Blanca says:

    If some one wishes to be updated with hottest technologies afterward he
    must be pay a quick visit this web site and be up to
    date daily.

Leave a Reply

