A Style Evolution

“I have nothing to wear.”  I find myself saying this all the time (despite having a walk-in closet full of clothes) and I’ve finally decided to do something about it!  I have never been the most fashionable person, and I know I never will be, but I’m growing tired of my style rut and definitely want to like the way I look on a regular basis. 

I went through a million styles growing up.  First, it was the super girly phase because my mom would dress me and I had no choice in the matter.  As soon as I could make my own decisions, I cut my hair short and dressed like a tomboy; you would never see me without a baseball cap!  Then, I got into the phase where I thought being stylish meant wearing brand names; all I wanted to wear was Tommy Hilfiger.  Why him?  I have no idea.  Nothing I ever owned from him was particularly stylish, but for some reason I loved it.  I guess I liked the logo. 

When I began to buy my own clothes, I definitely focused on quantity over quality.  I thought it was better to be able to buy more things more frequently than pay a little more for items that would stand the test of time, so I bought more for less.  I simply didn’t look at any regular priced merchandise.  I’d walk into a store and head straight to the clearance racks to scour my size.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I find a good bargain incredibly thrilling, but only if that bargain is something I will truly love.  My main downfall is that I would buy things that were cute and cheap, but not necessarily something I’d pay full price for.  Big mistake.  I put myself in the predicament I am in now, having a walk-in closet full of clothes and yet having nothing to wear. 

That’s where these two come in:

{Sydney & Kendi

These ladies are super stylish and know how to make their wardrobe work for them.  They always look amazing even though their closets probably contain a smaller quantity of items than mine.  As it turns out, less sometimes is more, and that was a red flag to me.  I need to stop spending money on pieces I like (not love) just because they are a good deal.  I need to spend more on classic pieces which can be easily mixed and matched with many other items in my closet as opposed to wearing the same exact outfits all the time.  I need to embrace the usage of great accessories which can keep outfits feeling new.  I truly believe that if I do these things, I will have a more edited closet, my outfits will feel fresher, and in turn I will spend less money overall on my wardrobe.

Later this week I’ll show you some of the wardrobe staples I’ve been wanting and some that I’ve already accumulated.  {Don’t worry, this will not turn into a fashion blog; I’m not naive enough to think I’ve got any sense of style compared to these and all of the other lovely fashion bloggers out there!}

This entry was posted in Blogs, Fashion. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Style Evolution

  1. Pingback: Why we have nothing to wear: Rationalisation #1 « The Blue Plate Special

Leave a Reply

