New Recipe: Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes

I can’t remember the last time I baked some delicious treats.  The only time I ever make dessert is to take along to a party {and even then it’s usually a no bake recipe like cookie dough truffles, dirt cake, etc.}  I think I avoid baking since the execution of the recipe has to be so exact or it doesn’t taste quite right.

However, I saw this picture at Kevin and Amanda’s blog over the weekend and I knew I HAD to make it.

It was literally making me drool, and I just happened to have everything I needed on hand from when I made the toffee blondies in a jar for Christmas gifts.

Cookie Dough Ingredients:

  • 2 sticks softened butter
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 4 tbsp milk
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup mini chocolate chips

Cupcake Ingredients:

  • 3 sticks softened butter
  • 1 1/2 cups light brown sugar, packed
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 2/3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract

Frosting Ingredients:

  • 3 sticks softened butter
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 3 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 tbsp. milk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

Instructions:

To make the cookie dough, combine the butter and sugars in a mixing bowl and cream on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 2 mins. Beat in milk and vanilla until incorporated and smooth. Beat in the flour and salt until just combined. Stir in the chocolate chips. Using a 1.5 tbsp scoop, shape the dough into balls or tubes. Freeze on a parchment lined baking sheet overnight.

To make the cupcakes, preheat the oven to 350° F.  Line two cupcake pans with paper liners (24 total).  In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the butter and brown sugar.  Beat together on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.  Mix in the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition and scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed.

Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl.  Stir together to blend.  Add the dry ingredients to the mixer bowl on low speed, alternating with the milk, beginning and ending with the dry ingredients, mixing each addition just until incorporated.  Blend in the vanilla.

Using a 3 tbsp scoop, fill the prepared cupcake liners 2/3 full with the cupcake batter. Place a frozen cookie dough ball on the top center of each cupcake.

Bake at 350 for 16-18 mins.

To make the frosting, combine the butter and brown sugar in a mixing bowl and cream on medium-high speed until light and fluffy.  Beat in the powdered sugar until smooth.  Beat in the salt, milk, and vanilla extract until smooth and combined.

Frost the cupcakes and sprinkle with mini chocolate chips!

Makes 24 cupcakes.  {Note: I way overfilled the cupcake tins, and still ended up with 28… It would probably work better to spread the batter out more, filling each tin no more than 2/3 full so that the cupcakes don’t run over in the oven.}

I just so happened to find some Valentine’s Day takeout boxes at Joann’s on clearance for 75% off.  I snagged a bunch of them to package the cupcakes and give to friends and family.

Happy Valentine’s day to all of you… I hope you have a fun day!

{P.S. Happy Anniversary, Mom and Dad!}

This entry was posted in 101 Goals, Food, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Recipe: Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Chocolate-Chip Cookie Dough Cake Pops « The Cooking Channel

  2. Julie says:

    Umm.. oh my god. I bake a lot and come across a lot of good recipes but when I made these yesterday I was blown away. I brought these into school and everyone was amazed. They have terrific flavor and the cookie dough is just so good, but these cupcakes are deathly. They are so rich and seriously fill you. But really, oh my god.

  3. Kusatta Mi says:

    Hi , do you have any ideas how to cut down this recipe into half ?! I found that a lot of recipes for Cookie dough cupcakes make the cupcakes with oil , I was confused because in the past when I made cupcakes with oil and water , I failed every single time =( but now I find this recipe of yours , I’m really glad that the cupcakes are made in the usual way =) . As I can’t make 24 cupcakes at once , is it possible to cut down this recipe into half ?!

Leave a Reply

