Am I Crazy?

I found my newest project to makeover…

It’s the gaudiest, shiniest, brassiest gold trunk you’ve ever seen.  You can literally use it as a mirror…

And there are all sorts of black spots where the finish is worn off…

The mister thinks I’m crazy.  All he sees is a nasty gold box, but I see potential.  If all else fails, it could look pretty great completely spray painted…

{via}

Or I could paint the mirrored sides, leave some of the brass detailing, and try to age it a bit with a glaze…

{via}

I could decoupage a cool print or pattern onto it and age the brass hardware parts…

{via}

Or I could get really crazy with a cowhide or leather fabric…

{via}

Either way, I think it’s well worth the $12 I spent for it.  My hope is that it will eventually replace the IKEA lack side table we are currently using in the living room.

What do you think?  Do you see the potential?  Or am I crazy?

 

This entry was posted in Before and After. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Am I Crazy?

  1. I don’t think you’re crazy at all! i think it’ll be super cute and I cant wait to see pictures of it when you finish it!! 🙂

  2. Neil says:

    I’ll vote for you being crazy!
    As for the trunk: I’d keep as much brass as you can stand.

  3. ksc says:

    Oh, leave it as it is! Like in the picture on your future post (referencing back to this post). It’s an impressive find. Nothing wrong with a bit of shiny.

  4. criscunha says:

    well, I found a trunk like this (exactly the same) and before my husband came home, I place it as a side table on my living room with some coffee table books over it, and it looks so cool. I was afraid about the super shinny gold looking, but now its one of my preferred pieces on my living room. what did you decided to do with yours?

    • I actually haven’t done anything with it yet… I found something to go where I had planned to put it in my dads garage, so for now it’s sitting in my basement! I wish it wasn’t so tarnished; it could be really stylish. Emily Henderson even has the same one (in better condition) on her secrets from a stylist set!

  5. Sarah says:

    I’d like to buy it from you if you’re still not using it.
    Please give me an email
    Slimcoln16@yahoo.com
    🙂

Leave a Reply

