How To: DIY Interchangeable Dessert Stands

This past year’s after Christmas clearance sale at Target netted me a few of these festive dessert stands.

I really loved the fact that they could come apart for easy storage.

I thought that it would be great to re-use the hardware to have a dessert stand appropriate for every occasion, so I started collecting some of the clearance melamine plates from Target.  {Can you tell I have a slightly unhealthy obsession with Target?}

First, I marked the center of the plate using the original plates as the guidelines.

Then, I drilled a hole through the plate at the mark.  I put the plate on top of a roll of toilet paper while drilling to keep the plate stabilized but allow the drill bit to go through without harming anything behind it.  {And yes, I thought of that solution while in the bathroom; it’s where most of my good ideas are generated.}

Then, it was just a matter of testing them all out!

This one is perfect for Easter…

And this one will be great for summer!

I really love how they turned out.  It’s an easy and inexpensive way to have coordinating food stands for any occasion, and best of all, they take up so little space!  I ended up giving this set to my mom {a master entertainer} for Mother’s Day, but I will definitely be snatching up more of these cute melamine plates for a set of my own!

This entry was posted in DIY, Gifts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How To: DIY Interchangeable Dessert Stands

  1. Neil says:

    Try it with ceramic plates!

  2. Veronica says:

    What a great idea! And unique gift for your mom. You’re very creative….could you send some of those creative juices this way 🙂

  3. bonnie says:

    where do you purchase the metal piece? what is that metal piece? please email me . I’m making some today .. waiting for your email

    • Hi Bonnie,

      I bought it from target. It’s a pre made dessert stand that unscrews and then I drilled holes into other plates to make it mix and match. I’ve also seen them at thrift stores. Hope that helps!

      Amanda

Leave a Reply

