What Happens In Vegas…

To finish off the week, I thought I’d share some pictures from our Honeymoon trip to Las Vegas! I’m not too sure why we chose Las Vegas as our destination since we are not big gamblers or club goers or whatever else happens in Vegas.  However, we had just bought our house so we wanted something on the less expensive end of things {ie: cheaper than my dream European vacation}.  I had seen some good deals to be had on trips to Vegas, and it turned out to be a pretty great decision!

Much of our time was spent just roaming the strip, checking out the hotels, people watching, eating delicious food, etc…  This is the closest I’ve come to seeing the Statue of Liberty; New York is still on my list of places to go.

I kind of loved this pharaoh dude.  {For some reason, my purse looks bigger than me in this picture!}

We stayed at the Monte Carlo which was, again, another random decision.  We got two free tickets to the Beatles “Love” Cirque de Soleil show, so I was sold.  It was a nice hotel, but I’d rather stay more towards the middle of the strip next time.  Even though you can see everything and it doesn’t look too far down the road, it is FAR.  We walked SO much that week.

My favorite hotel was the Paris hotel.  They had the best buffet too.  We went for dinner one night and then went for breakfast the next day!

We took a ride up to the top of the Eiffel Tower as well…

Later on, we took a road trip to Red Rocks, which is about 30 minutes outside of the strip.  It was one of our favorite parts of the entire trip!

There were tons of rocks and small mountains to climb around on.

Basically, if we felt confident we wouldn’t die, we climbed it.

There were lots of crazy crevices and passageways.  {You might want to wait to watch 127 Hours until after you complete this adventure.}

There were miles and miles of dessert trail to walk along, which we took full advantage of.

I hiked all the way up there as well, but hiked back down to snap a picture!

It was definitely one of the highlights of our trip and a must see, in my opinion, if you are in the Las Vegas area.

We kept the rental car overnight to take a trip to Hoover Dam and…

The Grand Canyon!

It was absolutely breathtaking.  I was super afraid to stand even remotely close to the edge for a picture.  You can see the edge behind us here, and there were people getting much much closer than we were.  I couldn’t believe that there wasn’t a designated photo spot with some sort of railing!  The mister said it’s survival of the fittest.

We also walked out onto the Skywalk, the overhanging platform pictured below.  It has a glass floor so you can look straight down into the canyon.

The Grand Canyon was obviously a must see, and it did not disappoint!  It only took a few hours to get there and back, so it was an easy day trip from Vegas.

The rest of the days were spent wandering the strip.  The mister placed some sports bets at Caesar’s Palace for gifts to his groomsmen.  Unfortunately, all the Detroit teams ended up sucking that year, so they didn’t win anything!  Other than that, I think the most we gambled was one five dollar bill in the video blackjack, and we probably quit when we broke even.  {We like to live on the edge.}

I thought this umbrella display was so pretty!

Michael Jackson died while we were there that week.  Within a few hours, they had pulled his wax statue out of Madame Tussaud’s wax museum and created a mini shrine.  By the end of the week it was pretty decorated.

I suppose I’ll end the post on the note of celebrity death.  I hope you enjoyed the “wedding week” filled with our engagement photos and honeymoon details!  I promise I won’t share any more photos of myself for quite a while after this… 🙂

This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Happens In Vegas…

  1. Joi says:

    I loved reading this! Thanks for directing me back here! It looks like you guys had a great time!
    : )

Leave a Reply

