New Recipe: Watermelon Cake Pops

First of all, I’d like to say that this is more of a do as I say, not as I do recipe because this was my first time making cake pops.  My inspiration photo was found via Pinterest on Cupcakes Take the Cake.

I really wanted to make some of these for the dessert at my gourmet burger bar party, so I searched and searched for a watermelon cake pop recipe, but I could not find one for the life of me.  So, I decided to figure out a way to make them on my own.

The great thing about cake pops are their versatility.  I got a basic recipe from my Aunt Vickie and modified it to look like a watermelon.  {She is a pro, by the way.. she made these adorable Easter egg cake pops this year!}

Her basic recipe is to bake a cake using a box mix according to the directions on the box.  For this recipe, I chose to use strawberry cake to give it a watermelon like color, although I would imagine cherry chip would work just as well.

When the cake is cool, crumble it into a bowl.  Then, add 3/4 of a can of cream cheese frosting, and mix the two together with your hands until all the crumbs are covered and moist.

For this particular application, I added some mini chocolate chips into the bowl {about 3/4 of the bag} to serve as the watermelon seeds.  Then, roll them into small balls and refrigerate for a while to let them harden up.

Melt some chocolate in the microwave in a tall and narrow cup {you won’t use as much chocolate this way}.  To make the lollipop sticks stay put in the cake pop, dip the end into melted chocolate and then push them into the cake balls.

Dip each pop into white chocolate, let cool, and then dip into white chocolate colored with green food coloring.  You will want to stand them up into blocks of craft foam while they cool so that they will retain their round shape.

Here’s where you will need to do as I say and not as I did! 🙂  I added shortening to the melted chocolate {as I have done in past recipes to make truffles} but I added way too much, and it ended up being very drippy, so I could not stick the lollipop sticks into craft foam to let the pops solidify upright.  I had to let them sit upside down to drip onto a cookie sheet in the fridge, which gave it a slightly odd shape.

Also, in hindsight, I would have used a lot more green food coloring for the outer layer.  It seemed OK in the bowl, but after it hardened, it was way too light.

Despite my rookie mistakes in presentation, they turned out delicious.  I’ll definitely be trying my hand at some more cake pops in the future!  I’d love to see your version if you make these delicious treats…

This entry was posted in 101 Goals, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to New Recipe: Watermelon Cake Pops

  1. Veronica says:

    Thanks for posting this! I’ve been wondering how to make these…. But, since I’m just getting more into “baking” lately, can you explain the shortening? Do you need to add it? And if so, I know you said you added too much….so how much is good?

    • I think that I used the wrong type of chocolate. I used regular Hershey morsels instead of “candy melts” which the famous Bakerella suggests. I think that would be a safer bet than concocting shortening and morsels… Hope that helps! Also, check out Bakerella.com; she has adorable decorating ideas for cake pops and is the one who wrote the book Cake Pops!

  2. Veronica says:

    Ok, awesome! Thanks. I will try those and check out the site 🙂

  3. Greta says:

    Great tips for cake pops- especially dipping the sticks into melted chocolate before putting the cake balls on them! Thank you.

  4. Julia says:

    they have dark green candy melts at the craft store that would be perfect for dipping these. i am going to try it this weekend along with ones that look like lemons with some white chocolate chips inside 🙂

  5. Pingback: FEATURED WATERMELON CAKE: WATERMELON CAKE POPS « What About Watermelon?

  6. Sara says:

    So cool! Great idea!

  7. melissa says:

    I make watermellon flavored cupcakes w my daughter all the time but i really like this idea i add a pack of watermellon jello to the cake mix and everyone can never figure out how i did it 🙂

  8. Diana says:

    Do you use a plain cake mix with the watermelon jello? What type of cake mix did you use?

    • Crystal says:

      I have used jello in cakes for a long time! It makes the cake any flavor you want and sooo moist and fluffy. Just put a small box of jello (not prepared, just the powder) into a white cake mix and follow the rest od the recipe.

  9. That is a good question, Diana. I can’t comment on Melissa’s idea since I haven’t done it. I would imagine it was a white cake or vanilla cake with the watermelon jell-o. I will say, the strawberry cake tasted delicious! 🙂

  10. Danielle says:

    Can you substitute cream cheese icing with buttercream?

  11. Nena says:

    You have made this recipe look very easy and inviting, I can’t wait to try them. How many does 1 cake recipe make? How many chocolate chips did you use?

  12. Dana says:

    When I saw this on Pinterest I was really hoping they were Watermelon flavored. I bet these are still very good though! (:

  13. Allie says:

    How many drops of food coloring for the green outer layer should I use? They look delicious!

  14. Julie says:

    I tried making watermelon cake pops this weekend. Check out my blog http://imaginecreateproduce.blogspot.com/2012/07/watermelon-cake-pops.html#comment-form to see my adventures in making cake pops for the first time! I tried making a watermelon cake from scratch with fresh watermelon. The cake turned out great, but didn’t have enough watermelon flavor (but I guess watermelon doesn’t truly have that much flavor – it’s more of a texture).

  15. Theanna S says:

    I tried adding the Jello packet as one user suggested, and for me it didn’t work out that well. I added one packet of watermelon Jello to one box of white cake mix before baking. The result didn’t have much color or flavor; I ended up having to add watermelon flavoring (from a local candy supply store) and food coloring to the icing. Turned out ok, but I’d probably just go with the strawberry mix.

  16. Pingback: National Watermelon Day 2012: 10 Unique Watermelon Recipes for Kids! | Food For Thought

  17. Pingback: Yummy Watermelon Finds On Pinterest

  18. Pingback: 9 Ways To Disguise Food As Other Food For Halloween | Fresh Zombie

  19. Pingback: The Best Homemade Cake Pops

Leave a Reply

