Nom Nom

Normally, our diet consists of a lot of protein with a side of vegetables.  However, Pinterest is a bad influence, and I can only take so much food gawking before I have to make an emergency trip to the grocery store for some goodies.  This is going to be a totally random post of the smorgasbord of food we’ve had around here lately {including the good, the bad, and the ugly!}

My sister was over one day and we were feeling especially domestic, so we decided to make her favorite vegetarian Pad Thai recipe.

{photo via}

It was very good, but it took a looooong time to make.  Considering the price of the rice noodles at Kroger and the time it took to prep everything, I’d probably just get takeout next time!

We followed it up with her favorite Vegan cupcake recipe.

We topped it off with peanut butter chip shavings and garnished it with chocolate drizzle… It was TOTALLY amazing.  Skipping the egg made it much more rich and moist and had the added bonus of the cake batter being safe to eat raw.

Another day, when my sister was over again, we made gnocchi mac and cheese.  {Why do we always want to cook when we get together?  I guess we just like to have Epic Mealtimes…}

It was pretty delicious, but I would have made way more of the cheese sauce; the gnocchi was kind of overbearing.

This vegetarian chilaquiles dish was my recipe fail of the decade…

It looked SO good in the picture, and sounded simple enough.  I followed the recipe to a T, but something must have been wrong.  All I could taste was onion and I felt like the can of red beans I used were bad or something.  They were store brand; maybe that was part of the problem?  I hate throwing away food, so I tried eating the leftovers and it was a million times worse.  Picture liquid onion on soggy tortilla.  Yeah, I didn’t exactly finish my lunch that day.

I also decided to make a mozzarella, tomato, and avocado salad.

I kind of liked it, just because I like ANYTHING with avocado in it; the mister didn’t care for it.  It’s amazing how something can look so delicious in a picture, but in reality be so anticlimactic… I’m sure it’s partly user error as well.  Ah well, at least now I know!

I’ve also dabbled a bit in freezer cooking {FINALLY!}  I started small because we didn’t have a ton of empty freezer space.  I picked a few recipes I wanted to try that I thought would freeze well and made up an ingredients list multiplying everything by about four {so that we could have four of each meal}. I stopped at Costco on the way home and picked up everything I still needed and completed three recipes times four meals each that night.  That means 12 dinners were completed in 1 night!

The great thing about these particular recipes is that there was no cooking required on the day of.  It was basically just make the marinade, add the meat, and seal in a freezer bag; set the bag in the fridge the night before to thaw, and throw it in the oven when we get home.  Vegetables or a salad are a quick and easy side dish!  The best part is, we are not wasting anything bought in bulk at Costco, and we don’t have to eat the same thing three days in a row since it’s all pre-divided.

So far, we’ve tried the turkey meatloaf and the honey garlic ribs; we have yet to try the teriyaki honey chicken.  Both were delicious and it was SO convenient to have a ready made meal to pull out mid-week when no one feels like cooking.  I can definitely see us doing this more often in the future.  The mister wants to help too since it means lots of yummy food on a more regular basis! :-p

That’s what we’ve been eating lately.  What are your recent favorite recipes?

This entry was posted in 101 Goals, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

