Summer Fun

I don’t have any project updates to share today; I’ve been too busy enjoying whatever summer I can get here in Michigan!  This week has been super busy {in a good way}…

On Friday, I went to a murder mystery dinner with my sister.  She found the deal on Groupon so we decided to give it a try.  Unfortunately, the food was less than stellar, and the show was not exactly what I expected, but it was definitely a good experience.  Now I feel like I have the confidence to actually host a murder mystery dinner on my own and know what to expect.  Plus, we always have a blast no matter we’re doing.  Love you, sissy!

On Saturday, we went to go see Jim Gaffigan live at Meadowbrook, a nearby outdoor theater.  He is officially my favorite comedian.  I had seen his stand up specials “Beyond the Pale” and “King Baby” in the past and absolutely loved him, but I had never seen him live.  I love the fact that his comedy is hilarious without being raunchy.  He rarely swears or uses dirty jokes and yet he is still unbelievably funny; that takes talent in this day and age.  This is one of my favorite bits:

It’s kind of relevant right now, if you know what I mean! 🙂  It’s a four minute video, but if you get a chance, check it out; you won’t regret it!

On Sunday nights, I have been playing in a summer flag football league.  It was a draft league, at a new field, with a new team, but I’m so glad I signed up to play.  I get to play on a team with a bunch of people I usually play against, which is really fun and a nice change.  Playoffs are next week and we have the best record for the regular season, so hopefully we will do well in the playoffs as well!  The funny thing is that the league is held at the high school I attended, so I play on their football fields, but when I was in school I could have cared less about our football team! :-p

On Monday, I got to attend an advanced screening of “30 Minutes or Less” with my sister.  I had high hopes since it had a bunch of stars and came from the same director as Zombieland.  It had its moments, but it was SO raunchy.  It reminded me of Horrible Bosses because of the amateur crime aspect, but not nearly as good.  It was kind of cool that it was set in Grand Rapids, MI though!  There was some pretty intense security at the theater; we had to check our phones at the door and get our purses searched!

Also, this week was my mom’s birthday, so my sister and I are going to spoil her tonight with a girl’s night out! 🙂 HAPPY BIRTHDAY, MOM!

It’s been a busy week, but lots of fun!  Hope you’ve all been enjoying your summers!

 

This entry was posted in Around Town. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

