Documentary Review Part 5

One of the goals for my Day Zero Challenge was to watch 10 documentaries. Here are my final reviews of two that I’ve watched recently.

9. Forks over Knives

Examines the profound claim that most, if not all, of the degenerative diseases that afflict us can be controlled, or even reversed, by rejecting our present menu of animal-based and processed foods.

{My Rating: 5 of 5}

This documentary was fantastic.  It focused on proving that you truly are what you eat by showing many real life cases where illnesses were reversed based on diet alone.  They made a point that it’s ridiculous for doctors to prescribe pills to patients with heart disease, diabetes, etc. and not look at reforming their diet.  Apparently, there’s more money in the drug and surgery industry than in simply having people eat vegetables.  I think you’d have to be a fool to watch this and not take something away from its findings.

Currently, I’d say I eat animal products of some sort 2-3 meals per day.  {Eggs in the morning, cheese stick or yogurt for a snack, some sort of meat for dinner…}  I’m also really bad with making side dishes.  I often only plan a main dish, so we end up eating meat for dinner with little to no vegetables.  I know that I’m healthy and that my bloodwork is good because we just had a free health analysis thing at the office, but I also know that I probably don’t need as much protein as I usually get, and that I should eat more vegetables.  This documentary was just the kick in the pants I needed to start eating a more plant based diet.   I’ve looked up some vegetarian recipes and am going to try to incorporate more vegetables and legumes into my diet.  I’m not going full out  vegetarian yet, though; I love sushi and bacon too much!

{P.S.  One startling fact presented was that the livestock industry produces more greenhouse gases than the transportation industry… gross.}

.

10. Food Matters

” ‘Let Thy Food Be Thy Medicine, And Thy Medicine Be Thy Food.’ – Hippocrates. That is the message from the founding father of modern medicine echoed in this brave new documentary film.”

{My rating: 2 of 5}

I was overall unimpressed by this film.  I thought it was overly preachy and didn’t offer many unique insights.  They advocated not only a vegan lifestyle, but a raw food diet.  They said that if your body consumes more than 51% of food in a cooked form, that your body treats it as a toxin and releases white blood cells to fight it.  They also said that 50% of the protein in food is lost when you cook it.  There is just no way I believe any of that.  I know that raw vegetables are the best for you, but I’d find it hard to believe that if you eat a diet of unprocessed, whole foods, rich in cooked vegetables, that your body would treat it like a toxin.

The funny thing was, every time the mister would walk by and hear something, it seemed to be an untrue statement.  Most of the documetary’s content was interviews with various doctors, and certain things they said made absolutely no sense.  For instance, one of teh doctor’s claimed that you should use diet to treat illness, because surgery is expensive and they only put plastic pieces in you, but food is living and can nourish your body.  Well, that’s not true; some surgeries put living blood vessels into your body, which is not a piece of plastic.  I get his point, that diet should come first, but it still was an untrue statement. 

Hopefully you’ve enjoyed my documentary reviews thus far; now I can check one item off my list!  {FYI, both of these are on Netflix instant streaming right now, so cheap entertainment if you have it!}

This entry was posted in 101 Goals, Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

