Reading Machine

That’s what I’ve been lately.  It seems that every few years I get on a kick to better myself and read more instead of watching TV.  :-p  I figure I better milk it while it lasts and at least have a shot at reaching my 10 books goal!

After I finished Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?, I asked the mister for a book recommendation.  He suggested The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

It was an awesome {and quick} read!  It’s written from the perspective of a high school aged boy as a series of letters he wrote to an anonymous stranger.  It mostly focuses on the awkward stages of adolescence as the character comes into his own in his freshman year of high school.  I really enjoyed this book and would highly recommend it!

After this, I was hungry for another good book.  The mister had just finished The Hunger Games on his Kindle and loved it, so I decided to read that.  Luckily, my brother had a hard copy which he let me borrow.  {Thanks, Trevor!}

The story is about a post-apocalyptic world in which the all powerful Capitol hosts an annual televised battle where 24 people from the lesser districts are selected by lottery to compete in the Hunger Games, a fight to the death where only one person can survive.

I plowed through this book in less than a week.  I can’t wait to start the next book and to see the movie.  People are saying that this will be the new Harry Potter type series.  I never got into Harry Potter, but this I can get into!  I highly recommend it!

This entry was posted in 101 Goals, Books. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reading Machine

  1. Trevor says:

    You’re welcome, Amanda! I’m on the last book it gets pretty intense 😀

  2. Pingback: One Tweet – Twenty Five Recommendations « Treasures of Life

Leave a Reply

