DIY Framed Bathroom Mirror

I’m a horrible blogger for this post! Not only did I neglect to take step by step process photos, I can’t find my “before” photo that I KNOW I snapped. Shame on me.

Picture my “before” photo just as a giant slab of mirror glued to the wall. The plan was to frame it out to make it look more like a decorative mirror was hung on the wall. The first version that I saw of this was from Janelle. {By the way, browse her blog if you haven’t before; she’s great!}

There have been quite a few variations since, but I found that to be my favorite design. I prefer the square cuts and molding detail over mitering the four corners and making a simple square.

I used MDF which I had cut to size at the hardware store. The two trim pieces are wood and are glued to the top MDF piece with Gorilla wood glue. I gave them all a few coats of primer and paint {the same color as my board and batten wall in the laundry room} making sure I did the back sides as well, since some is reflected in the mirror. Use whatever thicknesses and dimensions needed to work for your space. I was working with an existing light fixture which limited the height and an outlet to the left which limited the width.

I glued them all to the wall/mirror with Liquid Nails for paneling. Janelle recommended this product, and I was pleased with how it worked on the aforementioned board and batten wall, so I went with it. I used painter’s tape to hold it in place while it dried.

And, the afters!

It’s difficult to get a shot of this narrow space, especially when I’m avoiding snapping a shot of myself in the mirror.

The only thing I would have done differently on this project is to stack some heavy objects on the top board while the trim glue is drying. I’m not sure if I started off with a board that wasn’t plumb, or if it became that way during the drying process, but either way, it was not flush with the wall, and I ended up having to use a wood screw on one end and then patch/prime/paint over the screw. It’s a hassle to try to avoid if you can!

 

Overall, I’m happy with how it turned out, but this is one project that I’m kind of glad to be finished with!

This entry was posted in Decor, DIY. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DIY Framed Bathroom Mirror

  1. Kenna Coneys says:

    Wall mirrors that are large are great because you can see your whole body. ;

    <a href="Up to date post on our very own blog
    http://www.prettygoddess.com/index.php?board=24.0

Leave a Reply

