Tourists in our Hometown

When you’ve lived in the same place all your life, it’s easy to get bored with the same old places and routines, especially when you’ve just experienced the fun and excitement of a new city on vacation.  These past few weeks since we’ve been home from New York, though, have been a great reminder to me that where you live really does have a lot do with what you make of it!

On Mother’s Day weekend, my sister and I headed to the outdoor antique show that comes to town three times per year.  We both love looking at all the vintage pieces and we may or may not have spent four hours there.  {Apparently, we inherited these tendencies from our dad.}  Eddie was getting very anxious to leave by the end; he was being petted WAY too much for one day! :-p  The item I regretted not buying? A vintage FOX typewriter.  I’m literally still kicking myself for not buying it. *sigh*

My friend Krysten received tickets for her birthday from her parents to see the Blue Man Group at the Fisher Theatre and was nice enough to invite me along!  We had a blast and I so love that we don’t have to go to Broadway to see some good shows.  {As you may recall, I also saw Wicked last year…}

As our birthday gift to her, I really wanted to take her out for a day of fun as a “tourist” in our hometown.  We’ve all lived in Metro Detroit for our whole lives, yet we had never been to Eastern Market, so I knew that would be perfect!  I planned out a little “Eastern Market Food Tour” based on reviews that I had read online.

Our first stop was the Rocky Peanut Co. which was an adorable little specialty grocery store.  They had many unique bulk items as well as packaged goods.  We could have spent a lot longer than we did wandering those aisles.

Our next stop was Supino Pizzeria.  This place was featured on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives, which also happens to be Krysten’s favorite show… score!

We all shared a “City Wing Thing,” which was the menu item featured on Triple D and had smoked turkey, smoked gouda, cherry peppers, mozzarella, and roasted garlic.  I loved it, but Krysten and the mister didn’t love the cherry peppers.  We all agreed we’d come back sometime and try some different toppings.

Then we shared some delicious pierogis at the People’s Pierogi Collective.  They were small enough that we each got to choose our own flavor.  I had the jalapeno popper and it was pretty good!

We stopped by the new food truck in town, Mac Shack, and gave their “Bacon Made Me Do It” dish.  It was unbelievably good and a plentiful amount to share.  I’d eat mac and cheese every day if it wasn’t so unhealthy!

Our last food stop was Bert’s.  They had tons of table set up outside along with live music, a full bar, and 50 feet worth of grills serving up some delicious choices.  We shared a half slab of ribs and my opinion is that the meat was awesome but I didn’t care too much for the barbecue sauce.  Next time, we’ll probably order it dry and find some Sweet Baby Ray’s from somewhere.

Not pictured is the mini triple berry pie we got from Mumby Pie Co to share later.  I’m not a huge pie person, but I still liked it, and the others loved it.  We had the most delicious freshly made strawberry lemonade on the way to our next destination.

We went on a walking tour of Detroit with D:hive.  We all really enjoyed it.  We went into a few of the famous buildings we had never been in and learned tons of history about the places and landmarks we walk and drive past all the time.  One of the highlights was the interior of the Guardian Building.  It was breathtaking, and a fun fact is that the detailed ceiling work is actually made of canvas for sound dampening qualities.  The building was built in about 9 months, which is mind-boggling to me for such a grand building to be built so fast in 1928-1929.

We also peeked inside the Compuware world headquarters and saw the humungous fountain in the lobby.  To be honest, I had no idea this building even existed in Detroit so it was fun to see the fountain.

Our tour guide also recommended a lot of cool restaurants to try out.  The one I really want to check out is the Grand Trunk Pub.  It used to be the ticketing station of the Grand Trunk Railroad and I cannot wait to stop in there before a Tiger’s game!

We saw quite a few more spots than this, and many of which were things we’ve all seen before but didn’t know much about.  I don’t want to ruin the fun facts in case you decide to take the tour which, by the way, we all would highly recommend.

All in all, these past few weekends have been so fun.  I’m excited for the next antique show to come this summer and I’m thrilled to have a few more fun food, shopping, and activity options in Eastern Market and Detroit.  There’s fun to be had in any city if you look for it.

This entry was posted in Around Town. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tourists in our Hometown

  1. Stacey@aGh says:

    What a fun day! You got some great pictures and all that food has made me hungry! HA!

  2. Neil says:

    How do I find this Mac Shack? google failed me.

  3. Christen says:

    Just discovered your blog and I love it! I wrote a post about being a tourist in my hometown a year ago too: http://lovelifelists.blogspot.com/2011/07/just-do-it-17-see-my-city-like-tourist.html

    It’s fun to “see” a hometown with new eyes, you know?

  4. Katy says:

    You guys are such great friends, it sounds like the food tour was a blast! We will have to do Eastern Market the next time we are in town!

Leave a Reply

